Nav Arrow


CMS Tray

You Are Here : Home : For Volunteers : Volunteer Recognition : Adult Recognition FAQs

1. Why are there Adult Recognition awards?
GSGLA is privileged to partner with a dedicated group of volunteers who deliver programs and services to girls every day. The adult recognition awards honor volunteers' contributions and years of service to Girl Scouting.

Volunteers do not give of themselves and their time just to receive recognition. They come to Girl Scouts to work with girls, learn and grow themselves, make friends and give to the wider community. GSGLA promotes adult recognition as just one way to show volunteers how much they are appreciated.

2. How often are awards presented?
Volunteers work throughout the year and recognition of their accomplishments should also be given throughout the year. In the new handbook, you will find examples and resources for ways to say “Thank You” at any time.

Certain awards, identified in the handbook, are presented each spring at the GSGLA Adult Recognition Event. Service units will continue to recognize volunteers with outstanding contributions to the service unit at service unit recognition events.

3. Is there a prerequisite for the awards or an order in which awards must be received?
Most awards are not given in any predetermined order. Awards are often based on the group receiving the service. An award for service to the council may be given, if the criteria is met, even when the individual has never been a leader or in a service unit.

There are two exceptions. The Thanks Badge II has a prerequisite of the Thanks Badge. The new GSGLA Platinum Service Award also has prerequisites of two GSUSA awards.

4. Who can nominate? Can staff or parents nominate volunteers for an award?
Nominations for awards can be made by any person who has knowledge of the service performed. This includes parents, community members, volunteers and staff.

The same requirements for the nomination exist including submission of the nomination forms and letters of recommendation. The handbook and nomination forms will be available on line on the Adult Recognition page of the GSGLA website.

5. Can staff be nominated for awards?
No. These awards are for volunteer adult members of GSUSA. Staff is recognized in other ways.

6. When do I need to have the nomination turned in, and who gets it?
Please look at the handbook for the specific dates for the award you are considering. In general, the awards which are presented at the council award event must be received online using the e-form by the first friday in December.

This gives the committee time to review the nominations, inform the Board on nominations, and order the appropriate award. Other awards may have due dates established by the service unit.

7. What should the support endorsement say?
Check the handbook for the page “Questions on the Supporting Endorsement e-form.” Be sure to share exactly what the volunteer has done, why it is outstanding, and how it meets the criteria of the award. Supporting endorsements must be submitted by e-form by the second Friday in December.

This may be the reviewer’s only knowledge of the service and the nominee. Many volunteers have had numerous jobs within the service unit, region, or council. Give details which support the specific award being considered.

8. How do I know what my nominee has received in the past?
Records have been kept by legacy councils, and will continue to be kept by GSGLA, of awards volunteers have received. This information can be requested from

9. What is the difference between the Numeral Guard and Years of Service?
The Numeral Guard is for the number of years a person has been a registered member of the Girl Scout organization, including years as a girl member. It can be presented at the Council event beginning at 30 years of membership. Nomination forms need to be submitted using the e-form by the first Friday in December.

The Years of Service pin is for the number of years as a registered adult volunteer. It can be presented at the Council event beginning at 25 years of service. Nomination forms need to be submitted using the e-form by the first Friday in December.

For both awards, members with fewer years (5-year increments) may purchase the pins themselves, or they may be purchased and presented by their service unit.

10. We have never used the Years of Service Awards. If I have been a volunteer for 38 years, am I eligible to receive the 35 Year Pin or the 40 Year Pin?
You would be eligible for the 35 Years of Service Pin this year. When you reach 40 years, you would receive the 40 Year Pin. It is always given in 5-year increments to the last increment.

11. I'm not sure if this volunteer should receive the Appreciation Pin or the Honor Pin? What is the difference?
The Appreciation Pin is awarded for service in a single service unit or program. The Honor Pin is awarded for service that impacts two or more service units or programs.

12. I have other questions, who should I ask?
Copies of the handbook are online and at all Service Centers. If your questions are not answered after looking through the handbook, contact us at


Volunteer Match Pixie List
10 Steps to Becoming a Troop Leader
Volunteer Resources
Nominate A Volunteer
Sign Up Now!